Maximize Your Life

MaximizeYourLife

Ever since I started watching the Biggest Loser it has been a goal of mine to meet Jillian Michaels. That goal finally became a reality when my wife and I had the pleasure of attending her Maximize Your Life Tour last Thursday in Joliet.

If you’ve seen her on The Biggest Loser or listened to any of Jillian’s Podcasts before, then you know what you’re getting: A fun, yet serious, no BS approach to life and change.  I absolutely love this approach; There’s no sugar coating and no excuses. You either do it or your don’t. The choice is yours.  The show is a close companion to her book, “Unlimited: A Three Step Plan for Achieving Your Dreams”, and is broken down into 3 different sections: diet, exercise, self.

In the first part of the show, Jillian talks briefly about diet and exercise summing it up into 4 simple words: “Eat less. Move more.” Really that’s it, and really it is that simple. I could tell that some people in the crowd were hoping for a magical weightless solution, but really one doesn’t exist. The truth is that it takes hard work and determination, along with the ability to add and subtract. She also covered the importance of eating quality food, which doesn’t necessarily have to be organic, but as clean as possible.

The third part, and bulk of the show, is dedicated to living in your truth and maximizing your life. This is the portion that I was looking forward to the most. The best way to sum it up is that your life is in your own hands. We all deserve to have an amazing life but it is up to us to go out and get it. You can’t  just sit around wishing for all your dreams to come true, you have to put in the work and make it happen. That doesn’t mean that it will be easy, the things in life worth having rarely are. However, if you know what you want and you are willing to put in the work, you can have it. As Jillian says in her book and on the tour, “If you believe in your ‘Why’, then you can tolerate any how”.

Like I said earlier, I am a big fan and supporter of the things Jillian teaches. It’s sad that some people label her as a strictly a fitness guru because that is just a small portion of the information I have learned from her. I listen to her podcasts weekly and always find something new that I can apply to my life to make it just a little bit better. Really, I could go on and on, but that might be a bit boring to anyone reading this.

I will, however, wrap it up by telling you that the highlight of my night was during the VIP Meet & Greet portion. I was amazed at the personal attention, energy and care that Jillian put into each and every person that had the privilege to spend time with her. I mentioned to her that I had tweeted with her back and forth last August while she was prepping for her first triathlon. She instantly lit up, smiled and said, “I know you! Your picture is you with the kid on your shoulder! How are you?” It was awesome to know that not only is the twitter really her, but that she remembered our conversation.

Screen Shot 2014-04-14 at 5.15.46 PM

Jillian, if you read this, thank you for being the person that you are and for inspiring me and many others to Maximize Our Lives!

Additional Links:
eboost.com
jillianmichaelslive.com
jillianmichaels.com

Leave a Reply

