Sick and Tired of Sick and Tired.

SickAndTired

I love nothing more than being a dad, my kids mean the world to me and I would do anything and everything for them. I am most happy when we are doing something together, working on pinewood derby cars, riding bikes to school, playing in the pool, or going out for a walk. The last two weeks we have spent a different kind of time together, we have all been sick. UGH!

I am a man, so generally I am no good at being sick, I become wimpy, a bit whiney, and complain about everything. I am not proud of it, but its what I do. This time it was even worse because I was smack dab in the middle of some base training and doing really well with consistency. I could see gains in my fitness, my swimming felt like it was coming together and I was feeling confident in my long runs. Then Jack got sick. DUN DUN DUNNNNNNNN.

You see Jack and I are kind of like E.T. and Elliot, a lot of times we seem to be the same person. I can tell when he is having a bad day, or something is off with him, and if he is sick – I get sick. So when he came down with Pneumonia I was terrified! I kept training telling myself that I was healthy and all is good, all the while I had a pretty vicious cough that would not go away, but I kept on training. Then one morning Jack had a fever, and my wife and I dealt with it and took care of him and I managed to avoid the sick and kept on training. Then Gracie caught his fever, and as a family we took care of her and dealt with it, and I kept on training. Then at 4am I woke up with the chills, skin aches, and my head pounding and I knew it was time to shut it down.

It’s been about a month now that we have been taking care of different forms of sick in our house and I have to say, I AM OVER IT! I just want to get back to everyone being happy and healthy. Running, smiling, playing, skating. So far this winter because of the sick we have missed the following fun activities: Skate at the United Center, Blackhawks Meet and Greet at Navy Pier, Camping in Eagle Cave, Sledding, Hockey, School, Cub Scouts, and a Ski Trip.

I guess that I appreciate that this stupid bout of sick has forced us to take it easy and get some much needed rest, but enough is enough. I am happy to say, that at this point I think that we have all turned the corner and I can see health on the horizon. Through all of this I have realized how truly fortunate I am, that a bit of a bug is my biggest complaint and worry, but good gravy I am so sick and tired of being sick and tired.

One Comment on “Sick and Tired of Sick and Tired.”

  1. Ron says:

    Tony, Glad to here you and your are on the mend. Take care my friend.


Leave a Reply

