I Love Hockey

2Seasons

Lycra and Sweaters

For me there are only two seasons in a given year. There is race season and hockey season. So with the weather changing and the leaves falling it means its time to trade in the lycra and the bike, and step in to my skates and on to the ice. In my opinion there is no greater sport than hockey. It tests your endurance, your mental and physical toughness, forms bonds of friendship. It’s fast paced, and action packed. There is the thrill of the goal, the tension of a big save. Hockey is a complete experience every time. There is a classic line in the movie “The Cutting Edge” when Douglas Dorsey talks about how he loves the smell of the ice and anyone that has ever played hockey can instantly relate to it, and totally understands. For me there is something magical about the ice rink, the cool crisp air, the smell of the zamboni, the overall atmosphere is one big happy memory.  On top of that, for the past 2 seasons I have been able to skate with my little brother and in both of those years we have won the Championship. It’s safe to say that I love the game.

ChampionshipPhoto

Some might call it a Dynasty

When I was growing up I dreamed of watching the Chicago Blackhawks win the Cup and I thought it would be an impossibility to see them in the finals. I believed that if that ever happened I would do what ever it took to be there. However, this past season when the Hawks were playing Game 5 at the United Center I was nowhere to be found. Instead, Jack and I were at Starved Rock on Cub Scout Camp Out. On opening night of the NHL season, when my team, The Blackhawks were going to raise their second championship banner into the rafters there was only one place I was going to be. I was going to be sitting in the arena, in my seat, ready to cheer and watch my team. And cheer I did. That night I watched Jack and the rest of the Yellow Jacket in-house mite team skate their first practice of the season and it was amazing. It could possibly be one of the best hockey experiences I have ever had.

Jack has been skating now for the last 4 years, and for every session, every practice I have been there with him on the ice, doing the drills, giving instruction, and enjoying every minute of it. This year I made the decision to take a step back. to just be a parent and not a coach. I had the feeling that in the past I may have been expecting too much from him, that perhaps I was making it not as much fun as it could have been, for him or I. We are now three weeks into his new season and I can tell that I’ve made the right choice. Jack is skating better than I have ever seen him before. He is faster, stronger, more confident and most importantly he is having a great time, and I have to say so am I.

WithTheKids

I don’t regret any of the time I spent with him on the ice, I know that if I wouldn’t have been there with him in the beginning he probably wouldn’t have done it. I was there to teach him how to skate, and even if he doesn’t remember all the time we shared getting the gear on, skating, talking, and playing, I will.

Like I said, I love hockey.

Leave a Reply

