Cooking Is For Everyone

I am living proof that cooking is for everyone. I have to thank my brother John and his wife Ashley for getting me into the world of cooking and healthy eating. He has been eating healthy forever, cooking his food and telling me all about it, he’s even started a great blog about their food adventures. For the longest time, for some unknown reason, I fought the idea. I kept telling him, he was nuts, and that I didn’t have time. I would say, “You just wait till you have kids. We’ll see how much cooking you do then.” All the while I was jealous of the amazing food that they were making at home.

Inspired by my brother, one day I decided that I too was going to cook. I downloaded the app “Cook This Not That” from iTunes, ran out to the store to get my ingredients, came home fumbled my way around the kitchen and cooked a pretty damn good meal. Along the way I learned a few things.

1) If you can read, you can cook. However, that does NOT make you a chef. Guys like Chef John des Rosiers at Inovasi are brilliant and should serve as an inspiration to what food should taste like.

2) With a little bit of effort, the fresh food you make at home tastes better 90% of what you can get from restaurants feeding America. Not only that, but you know exactly what you are putting in to yours and your families body.

3) Cooking at home is a huge cost savings.

4) Lastly, I learned that I had time. I was simply being lazy. Most meals take less than 1 hour total, to prepare, cook, and clean up.

I used to be intimidated by cooking, thinking that it was too hard and I couldn’t do it. That was just silly fear of the unknown. I have now come to the conclusion that cooking is for anyone and should be done by everyone.

As a graphic designer, I love creating. It is even better knowing that I am creating a healthy meal for my family.

What are you going to cook for your family? I can’t wait to hear how it turns out.

3 Comments on “Cooking Is For Everyone”

  1. johnny says:

    The truth shall set you free my brotha! Beautiful post, and not only becuase I’m in it:)

    So proud of your decisions! Keep going…

  2. johnny says:

    What are you prepping for in the picture?

  3. Laurie says:

    Great post – thanks for the inspiration!


Leave a Reply

